Edwards Hall/Men's Industrial Building
Chestnut and North Main Streets, Berea
Edwards Hall was built in 1904 by students, as a practice project before they constructed Phelps Stokes Chapel. This three-story edifice was the college-operated high school for many years, the top floor serving as the boys’ dormitory.
The brick structure contains interesting variations of detailing, such as corbelled brick brackets and paired pilasters, which provided exacting experience for the student builders. The main entrance is recessed between two projecting blocks. Beneath the entrance’s keystoned arch a semicircle fanlight is combined with a transom. This large arched entrance is flanked by small, paired, arched windows. On the third floor circular windows repeat the curved motif of the entrance.