Union Church of Christ
Main and Prospect Streets, Berea
The history of the Union church of Christ has been closely related to Berea College. Like the college, this church was founded by John G. Fee (1816-1901) who served as its pastor from 1853 to 1895. Both Union Church and Berea College are non-denominational, and both have been racially integrated since their founding. A log building nestled in a grove of trees north of town served as the first meeting house of Union Church.
The present Classical Revival style brick sanctuary was designed by W.H. Nicklas of Cleveland, Ohio, and completed in 1922. The pedimented portico is supported by Tuscan columns, whereas above the central projecting entrance Ionic pilasters support a simple entablature and segmental pediment. The roofline entablature which has denticulated cornice encircles the basilica-shaped church. On the side facades equally large sash windows with semicircle fanlights and triangilar pedimented side doors complete the classical treatment.